Where was the main structure for this utility building moved?
A. 106 Spring Avenue
B. 108 Spring Avenue
C. Corner of Spring Avenue and Park Row
D. None of the Above
Answer: C. Corner of Spring Avenue and Park Row
The house that was on the lot where this original brick meat house still stands was moved, remodeled and enlarged by its new and subsequent owners into what is now 101 Spring Avenue, known as the Mansfield-Eliason House and, later, as the Townsend Building. Soon it will be the distinctive new home of the Kent Cultural Alliance.
In its original location on Club Lane, now called Spring Avenue, the house had been purchased in about 1848 by Thomas Eliason. The exact date is unclear, but according to the Maryland Historic Trust’s K-351 file, the 1860 map shows T. W. Eliason as the owner.
The house that Eliason purchased c. 1848 “was built for James Claypoole sometime after 1781 when he bought it from the Blakes.” Mr. Eliason reportedly resided there for most of the rest of his life.
The lot and charming brick dependency still belong to members of the Eliason family. Each spring, Chestertown is treated to the blooming gardens, in particular, the spectacular peonies, which were planted by and have continued to be cared for by T.W. Eliason’s heirs.
Thanks go to the Maryland Historic Trust for K-files 74 and K-351 and their revealing history.
The Kent County History Quiz is a weekly local brainteaser sponsored by The Peoples Bank. Our goal is to create an opportunity for local learning and discussion.
Do you have a Kent County history question? Send it to email@example.com.